Skip to content

Things That Make You Go Hmm?

March 18, 2010

Anyone close to me knows that two of my biggest passions are the Pacific and soccer.  Believe it or not there is an overlap between the two.  While there aren’t any powerful Pacific soccer nations (New Zealand, the only team from the Oceania Football Federation to ever qualify for the World Cup, is a minnow), there are a few Pacific Islanders doing big things.  Brian Ching, while not Native Hawaiian by blood, was born and raised in Hawai’i and up until this year had been a mainstay in the US lineup. Tim Cahill is an Australian international of Samoan decent that plays for Everton FC in the English Premiere League.

That’s about it, from the top of my head anyway, and it’s not really the point.

As I was scrolling through my Google Alerts I saw “Play Up Pohnpei”.  For those of you not as into soccer as I am, “Play Up” is equivalent to “Let’s Go”.  Anyway, at this point my interest was piqued, so I click on the link and it brings me to an article on the Sherborne Town FC website.  Sherborne Town, from England, apparently has a sister club in Pohnpei! What?  There were no signs of soccer fans while I was there.  There were two broken nets at the sports complex, but that was it.  Apparently they have a state league and play internationally against other teams from the Pacific, mostly Guam.  If anyone out there has more information on this, please let me know!  I think I found another team to support!

Here is the coaches blog and here is the Pohnpei Premiere League site.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kirsty permalink
    March 18, 2010 7:54 pm

    Thanks for the Everton shout out!! 🙂 Also, Tim Cahill is on my list of potential husbands.

  2. March 18, 2010 9:04 pm

    Hey they are my second favorite team in the EPL. Tim Cahill is now one of my favorite players. Alex says I look a bit like him, so that can’t hurt.

    • April 14, 2010 8:44 pm

      I can’t believe you support Everton (even if they’re second behind your beloved Fulham FC). I can’t possibly come up with words to describe how hurt I am. On a different note, I love the blog.

Trackbacks

  1. World Cup and the Pacific: Primer « Be Pacific

Leave a Reply

